Toyota Nigeria Limited (TNL), Mikano Motors, Nord Automobiles, CFAO Group, and others have been honoured by the Nigeria Auto Journalists Association (NAJA).

Infinity Tyres

The honour and recognition took place at the 2023 NAJA Awards held at Oriental Hotel, Victoria Island, Lagos State.

Nord was recognised as the Enterprising Indigenous car company of the Year 2023 while Mikano Motors and Toyota clinched Most Innovative Auto Company and Pick Up of the Year 2023 respectively.

These categories of awards were presented to the companies at a colourful ceremony attended by key stakeholders including the Director General of National Automotive Design and Development Council (NADDC), Mr Joseph Osanipin and Managing Director of TNL, Kunle Ad-ojo amongst others.

In addition, Toyota Landcruiser won Large Sports Utiity Vehicle (SUV) Of The Year, just as Toyota Hiace clinched Minibus of the Year.

At the award night, Suzuki S-Presso won the Budget Car of the Year, Changan Uni-K won the Auto Design of the Year, JAC by Lanre Shittu Motors also won the Heavy Duty Truck of the Year, while Innoson Vehicle Manufacturing won the Assembly Plant of the Year awards.

Also Weststar Associates Limited, authorised General Distributor of Mercedes-Benz in Nigeria won the Luxury Brand of the Year, while Auto Workshop of the Year went to RT Briscoe.

Also at the event, Osanipin challenged key players in the Nigerian Automotive Industry to think more on automotive components development and integration in assembly operations.

“Today we are here to celebrate, however we need to challenge ourselves with the future of the Nigeria automotive industry. We need to take the necessary steps to make these changes. It starts with us, we are the ones to determine where the automotive sector will be heading in Nigeria.”

Osanipin seized the opportunity to applaud NAJA for standing firm in promoting the local auto industry.

He however challenged the awardees to consider components manufacturers in future NAJA awards projects.

Over 29 persons and companies who have distinguished themselves in the industry were specially recognised and honoured in different award categories.