President Bola Tinubu, yesterday, formally inaugurated the 37 kilometres Red Line rail in Lagos.

Infinity Tyres

The train is the first phase of the project, which will run from Oyungbo in Lagos state to Agbado in Ogun State.

According to the state government, when fully operational, the line will run 37 trips and convey about 500,000 passengers daily.

With the commissioning, It brings to two the rail lines owned and operated by the Lagos State Government. The first, The Blue Line, runs from Marina to Mile 2. It is expected to be extended to Okokomaiko.

The first phase of the Lagos Redline Rail has eight stations, namely: Agbado, Iju, Agege, Ikeja, Oshodi, Mushin, Yaba and Oyingbo.

The train is expected to reduce travel time on the corridor.

It will also reduce traffic gridlock, road accidents and ensure the safety of commuters.

As part of the state’s inter-modal connectivity public transportation infrastructure, the Redline is integrated with Bus Terminals at Ikeja, Oshodi, Oyingbo, Ikeja, Yaba and Iju.

The Red Line will run on the Nigerian Railway Corporation (NRC) standard gauge corridor.

To guarantee the safety of commuters and residents, the rail corridor has 10 vehicular overpasses and pedestrian bridges to separate the train from vehicular and pedestrian traffic.