The Lagos State Waterways Authority (LASWA) has published the list of alternative waterways routes due to the planned partial closure of the Third Mainland Bridge from Friday, July 24, 2020.

Infinity Tyres

In a statement issued by the General Manager, LASWA, Mr. Oluwadamilola Emmanuel, he noted that the Agency has mapped out alternative routes through the waterways across the Lagos metropolis.

The waterways routes that will be available at peak periods (6:30-9 AM and 4:30-6 PM).

Five Cowries Terminal in Lagos.
Five Cowries Terminal in Lagos.

These routes include:

  • Ikorodu Terminal – Ebute-Ero,
  • Addax Jetty (Sandfill)
  • Five Cowries Terminal (Falomo)
  • Ilaje Terminal – Ebute Ero – Five Cowries Terminal (Falomo)
  • Addax Jetty (Sandfill)
  • Ilaje Terminal – Badore, Oke Ira Nla
  • Badore (Ajah) – Ijede (Ikorodu)
  • CMS Marina – Apapa (Flour Mills, Liverpool)
  • Ajah (Badore, Oke Ira Nla) – Addax Jetty (Sandfill).

The General Manager of Lagos State Waterways Authority urged Lagosians to take advantage of the opportunity provided by the LASWA.

According to him, the creation of alternative routes for commuters, all passengers are assured of their safety.

READ ALSO: Third Mainland Bridge: 650 LASTMA, 250 FRSC officials to control traffic

He further stresses that the modern passengers’ boats are built and equipped with new technology and monitored in real-time to ensure passenger safety at all times.

Uber boat in alternative waterways routes.
Uber boat in alternative waterways routes.

Meanwhile, The Governor of Lagos, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, has revealed that over 650 LASTMA officials will control and monitor traffic on Third Mainland Bridge during the partial closure.

He made the disclosure when he received Olusegun Ogungbemide, the new sector commander of the Federal Road Safety Corps (FRSC) in Lagos, at the statehouse in Marina, the governor said the repair work will not overburden Lagosians.