The Nigeria Police Force has issued warnings on the restriction movement in 36 local government areas as the Independent National Electoral Commission holds bye-elections in 11 states across the country on Saturday (today).

Infinity Tyres

The Police Public Relations Officer in Lagos State, Muyiwa Adejobi, on Friday, announced a restriction of movement from 6 am to 6 pm in Somolu, Kosofe, Epe, Ikorodu and Ibeju-Lekki LGAs in the state.

Adejobi, in a tweet, said, “Lagos-East senatorial election, no movement between 6 am and 6 pm of Saturday, December 5, 2020. Comply please.”

The Lagos State Commissioner of Police, Hakeem Odumosu, on Friday in a statement by Adejobi titled ‘Lagos East Senatorial and Kosofe Constituency II bye-elections: Police declare restriction order, sue for peaceful conduct’, added that the restriction was in place to ensure free, fair and credible elections.

Odumosu stated that the election monitoring team, comprising two police commissioners, assistant commissioners of police and other officers, led by the CP, Community Policing, Force Headquarters, Kola Okunola, had been deployed in the state to supervise policemen and other security agents detailed for the election duties.

The statement read in part, “The command has deployed a reasonable number of police personnel and other security agents to cover and provide security at the 1,928 polling units in the areas.

“The Commissioner of Police reiterated that there would not be both vehicular and pedestrian movements in and out of the affected local government areas during the elections except those on election duties, essential services and accredited domestic and foreign election observers.

“The police boss, however, warned the electorate and political gladiators to play the game according to the rules and provisions of the Electoral Acts, 2010. He also warned that no police aides or security agents would be allowed to escort their principals or any Very Important Personalities to the polling units.”

READ ALSO: LASG warns international travellers against shunning COVID-19 tests

Similarly, the Plateau State Government announced the restriction of movement in six LGAs ahead of the Plateau-South senatorial bye-election today.

The Secretary to the State Government, Prof Danladi Atu, in a statement on Friday, said the restriction, which included all vehicles, would run from 6 am to 6 pm.

He said, “By this directive, only those on essential duties will be permitted to move around during the period of restriction. The government wishes to call on all citizens within the Southern Senatorial Zone to fully cooperate by observing this directive in order to ensure that the bye-election is successfully conducted.”

The statement added that security personnel had been properly briefed to ensure enforcement and compliance.

INEC also said it had deployed 36,223 staff members for the poll in 11 states today.

A document obtained by Saturday PUNCH indicated that a total of 4,215,523 registered voters were eligible to participate in 36 local government areas, 413 registration areas, 7,702 polling units and 69,921 voting points.

The details of the document obtained from INEC indicated that Bayelsa Central Senatorial District had 4,662 staff; Bayelsa West, 2,281; Imo North, 3,874; Plateau South, 6,347; and Cross River North, 4,042; Lagos East Senatorial District, 9,284; and Ngazai State Constituency, 362.

Others are Bayo State Constituency (456), Bakori State Constituency (1,113), Bakura State Constituency (553), Isu Uzo State Constituency (562), Ibaji State Constituency (667), Kosofe 2 State Constituency (1,610), Obudu State Constituency (12) and Dass State Constituency (398).