The Ogun state government is set to roll out electric vehicles and motorcycles as part of measures to mitigate the effects of subsidy removal on petrol.

Infinity Tyres

The state Governor, Dapo Abiodun, announced this on Tuesday while declaring open the 18th National Council of Transportation conference holding at the June 12 Cultural Centre in Abeokuta, from February 13 to 16.

The conference theme, “Enhancing Innovations and Technologies for Sustainable Transportation: Tackling the Energy Challenges,” underscores the importance of finding sustainable solutions.

The Governor who was represented by the Commissioner for Transportation, Olugbenga Dairo, emphasized Ogun State’s commitment to pioneering sustainable transportation systems through the adoption of alternative energy sources.

He highlighted the timeliness of the conference theme, given the current energy crisis resulting from the removal of fuel subsidies, which has led to increased transportation costs and related expenses.

“Ever before the Federal Government rolled out plans for the Compressed Natural Gas (CNG) Project, the state has taken the initiative by rolling out the CNG-compliant vehicles.

“These vehicles will support a green environment and ease the transportation burden faced by the public.

“Transportation with other alternative sources of energy, which include electric trucks and motorbikes would soon be launched in the state,” he said.

The Ogun State Government forged a public-private partnership with Spiro, to introduce CNG buses in the state.

During the unveiling of the CNG buses in Ogun State, Governor Abiodun outlined their intended use, stating they would serve campuses and facilitate transportation for civil servants.

Moreover, these buses were slated to traverse critical routes, including the Mowe-Ibafo-Berger axis, Kuto-Wole Soyinka train station, Onikolobo to Idi-Aba corridor, and the Ita-Oshin-Adata route.

The meeting is being attended by Commissioners in charge of Transportation in the states and the FCT, their permanent secretaries, Transport Secretaries, Director of Planning Research and Statistics and other stakeholders. Others attending the meeting include heads of parastatals, academics, press and other relevant stakeholders.

The Guest of Honour is the Minister For Transportation, Senator Saidu Alkali.