The Oyo State Government, on Friday, declared that the ban on the National Union of Road Transport Workers was still in force.
It also disclosed that it would name and inaugurate managers for motor parks in all the 33 Local Government Areas of the state on Monday.
The State Commissioner for Works and Transport, Prof Raphael Afonja disclosed this on Friday while addressing newsmen in Ibadan, the state capital.
He said, “I am here to inform you of the recent development concerning the motor parks, garages, and quarries.
“Regarding the illegal collection of fees in the state at the motor parks and garages including quarries, moving forward, these park managers and those who have been appointed will be collecting funds on behalf of the government.”
He said the management committees of the new park system would be inaugurated on Monday.
According to him, the PMS will include a team of park managers who will coordinate activities at the parks in the 33 local government areas of the state as well as two disciplinary committees to coordinate motor parks and tippers/lorries’ parks.
Afonja said the park managers would be in charge of the revenue collection from commercial vehicles operating in the state.
He said the park managers would be the eyes of the government in the Local Government Areas under their jurisdiction.
He said that each Local Government would have a park manager, secretary and treasurer, stressing that all of them would be inaugurated on Monday and start work immediately.
The Commissioner further explained the new policy was different from the traditional practice of transport unions collecting money from commercial vehicle operators.
He said that the government felt there was a need to have appropriate people who would be handling the collection of revenue for the state.

Infinity Tyres