The Nigerian Railway Corporation (NRC) has confirmed that its Managing Director, Engr. Freeborn Okhiria, has been re-appointed for another term of four years.

Infinity Tyres

The approval of the appointment was signed, sealed and conveyed by the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Transportation, Dr. Magdalene Ajani via a letter with reference No. SH/COS/17/A/1698 dated 5th October 2020 in accordance with the relevant section of the NRC Act CAP 129 LFN 2004.

According to a Press Statement made available to Transport Day by the Deputy Director, Public relations of the NRC, Mr. Yakub Mahmud, Engr. Okhiria, a seasoned technocrat, holds a Bachelor’s degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Lagos.

After his National Youth Service Corp (NYSC), he was employed by the NRC where he rose through the ranks to become the MD through hard work and dedication to service.

He has held positions like the Director, Mechanical, Electrical, Signal and Telecommunications, and has also been a district manager for Zaria and Lagos at different times.

Engr. Okhiria is a Fellow of the following bodies: Nigerian Institute of Mechanical Engineering, Nigerian Society of Engineers, Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport. He is also a member of the Council of Regulation of Engineering in Nigeria; Member, Institute of Directors; Fellow, Institute of Strategic Management; Fellow, Institute of Corporate Administration of Nigeria; and Member, Nigerian Institute of Management.

He has earned numerous awards and recognitions. In 1996, he received Outstanding Engineer with Significant Impact award from the Minister of Transport and Gold Merit award by Railways Africa for the Year 2004. He has also bagged awards of excellence in recognition of his contributions to the growth of the Nigerian Institute of Mechanical Engineering in 2015, Award of Excellent Leadership in 2016by Rotary Club of Lagos Mainland, Award for Excellence in the Rail sector (2019) by Transport Correspondents Association of Nigeria, African Landmark Achiever Merit Award for outstanding leadership in Nigerian Railway Corporation in 2019, among others.