The Federal Government has announced that only approved airlines will be allowed into the country’s airspace, ahead of international flights resumption.

Infinity Tyres

Speaking on Thursday during a briefing of the Presidential Taskforce on COVID-19 at the Nnamdi Azikwe International Airport, Abuja, the Minister of Aviation, Hadi Sirika, disclosed that only the NAIA and the Murtala Muhammed International Airport, Lagos, would reopen for international travels.

The airlines approved include:

  • British Airways
  • Delta Airlines
  • Emirates Qatar,
  • Kenya Airways
  • Middle East Airline
  • Egypt Air Emirate
  • Ethiopian Airline
  • WA
  • Turkish Airline
  • Virgin Atlantic
  • Air Peace
  • Asky
  • Africa Ward Ghana
  • Air Cote d’Ivoire.

Airlines that are not approved include Air France, KLM, Ethiad, RwandAir, Air Namibia, Air Almaroq, Lufthansa, Angola, South Africa Airways.

On Saturdays, Lagos airport can welcome British Airways, Delta Airlines, Emirates Qatar, Kenya Airways.

For Abuja, the airlines available include Ethiopian Air, BA, Egypt Air, Middle East, Middle East and Turkish Airline.

READ ALSO: FG approves NCAA restructuring, phase out directorates

On Sunday, available airlines include Delta, Air Senegal, Virgin Atlantic, Ethiopian, AWA and Turkish while Abuja airport will receive BA, Egypt Air, Ethiopian, Emirate and AWA.

On Monday, for Lagos Turkish, Air Senegal, Virgin Atlantic, Qatar, AWA, Kenya Airways and British Airways. For Abuja on Mondays are BA, Emirates, Ethiopia and AWA.

The Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu had earlier revealed that not all the airlines will operate at once, and it was going to be based on a schedule per week.

The country’s airspace and airports had been shut to flight operations in March to curb the spread of the coronavirus.

The FG subsequently approved the restart of domestic flights from July 8, adding that effective September 5, international flights would resume with the two airports.

The Aviation Minister noted that there would be sanctions for non-compliance with the guidelines on the part of the airlines and the passengers.

He said passengers who fail to comply with the COVID-19 protocol put in place to curb the importation of the virus would be suspended from travelling for six months while airlines that fail to comply would pay a fine of $3,500 per passenger.

Sirika said, “Now, at this point, it is important that we announce the airlines that are allowed for operations into the country. The ones not approved are Air France. Middle East Airlines is approved for only Lagos (airport). British Airways (is) approved – allowed entry under COVID-19 protocol.

“The reason for Air France is that tourists business holders are not allowed entry. KLM not approved for the same reason as Air France. Delta Airlines, no restrictions – USA, we have an Open Skies with them and they also allow us in.

READ ALSO: International Flights: PTF meet with foreign ambassadors

“Qatar Airways are allowed and approved under COVID-19 protocol. Etihad, not approved. Ethiopian Airlines allowed entry under Covid-19 protocol. Egyptair approved, allowed entry under COVID-19 protocol.

“Rwandair not approved. Air Peace, not applicable, they are our own carrier in Nigeria, we thank them. Virgin Atlantic, approved, allowed entry under COVID-19 protocol. Air Namibia, not approved. Asky, approved. Royal Air Maroc, not approved. African World Airways, Ghana, approved.

“Air Cote d’Ivoire, approved. Lufthansa, not approved. Kenya Airways approved. Emirates Airlines, approved. Turkish Airlines approved. Cabo Verde not applicable as international flights are not resumed. Angolan TAG, not approved. South African Airways not applicable as international flights are yet to resume.”