Oman has extended the ban on international entries from Nigeria and 19 other countries to curb the further spread of coronavirus.

This was revealed in a statement issued by the Oman Government Communication Centre titled, ‘Update on travel restrictions related to COVID-19’.

Other African countries affected are Tunisia, Ethiopia, Tanzania, South Africa, Sierra Leone, Ghana, Guinea, and Libya.

Part of the statement read, “The Supreme Committee for dealing with COVID-19 and the Civil Aviation Authority has decided to extend the suspension of entry to the Sultanate until further notice for arrivals from the Republic of Sudan, the Federal Republic of Brazil, the Federal Republic of Nigeria, the United Republic of Tanzania, the Republic of Siena Leone, the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, the Republic of India, Islamic Republic Pakistan, People’s Republic of Bangladesh, and the Republic of Philippines, the Kingdom of Thailand, Malaysia, and the Socialist Republic of Vietnam.

READ ALSO: Abu Dhabi Cancels 3 Billion Dollars Airport Terminal Contract, Sources Say

“The Supreme Committee has decided to lift the Arab Republic of Egypt from the list of countries from which arrivals are banned.

It also decided to add to the list the following countries: the Republic of Singapore, the Republic of Indonesia, the Republic of Iraq, the Islamic Republic of Iran, the Republic of Tunisia, the State of Libya, the Republic of Argentina, the Republic of Colombia and Brunei Darussalam, and arrivals from any other country if they have passed through any of the aforementioned countries during the previous 14 days preceding their request to enter the Sultanate.

“Starting 5 pm Friday, 9th of July, 2021 until further notice, and remains in effect until further notice. Omani citizens, diplomats, health staff, and their families are exempt from the ban and will be subject to entry procedures adopted by the Sultanate.”

Leave a Reply