Members of the Nigerian Auto Journalists Association, NAJA have reelected Mr. Mike Ochonma as Chairman to pilot the affairs of the association for the next three years.

Infinity Tyres

In the keenly contested election held at the National Arts Theatre, Iganmu, Lagos, on Friday, May 18, 2022, Ochonma of AM Business defeated his opponent, Mrs Julie Chi-Nwaoha of On The Highway magazine with 15 votes to 11 in a run-off after the first ballots ended up at 13-13 tie.

During the election, which went smoothly and rancor-free, while a total of 23 members present casted their votes, three members, who were unavoidably absent, were also given the opportunity to exercise their franchise online.

Elected unopposed were Tajudeen Adebanjo of The Nation Newspaper as the Vice Chairman,  Anthony Awunor of The WILL as the General Secretary.

The immediate past General Secretary,  Segun Odunewu of Blueprint Newspaper defeated Daphne Uduneje of The Pilot Newspaper with 15 votes against 12 votes to emerge the Financial Secretary.

Speaking after the election, the chairman of the electoral committee, Mr. Paul Ogbuokiri thanked members for their peaceful conduct.

In his acceptance speech, the Chairman, Ochonma thanked the members, and congratulated his main challenger, Julie Chi-Nwaoha as he declared, “There was no victor, no vanquished. We are one family. Together, we can achieve more. Let’s look ahead to 2025.”