The Association of Maritime Journalists of Nigeria (AMJON) is set to hold the 2021 edition of her Annual Conference/Awards slated to hold at the prestigious Sheraton Hotel  Ikeja on Friday, 19th November, 2021.

Infinity Tyres

The theme of the Conference which is poised to be the biggest of its type in the maritime industry, is ‘Seamless Port Operations in Nigeria’.

The President of AMJON, Mr. Paul Ogbuokiri said that the post COVID-19  edition has been repackaged to be the biggest event to be held by the vibrant Nigerian Maritime press this year.

The topic is apt because it is set to unravel and proffer solutions to the myriads of bottlenecks bedevilling the industry’s full potentials.

Also, Chairman Organising Committee, Mr Innocent Orok  disclosed that the  event is billed to be the gathering of who is who in the maritime industry and even from allied transport and logistics chain sub-sectors.

The event will also honour deserving and patriotic Nigerians who are working  hard to re-position and change the narratives in the Nigeria maritime economy.

He disclosed that while the Minister of Transportation, Rt. Hon Rotimi Amaechi who is the Guest of Honour is slated to declare the two-day event open, President of the Association of Nigeria  Licensed Customs Agents (ANLCA),  Hon. Iju Tony Nwabunike has graciously accepted to chair the occasion.

Mr Orok said that the event would feature  paper presentations by  Chief Executive Officers (CEOs) of  Government agencies and Organisations including  Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA), Nigerian Ports Authority  (NPA), Nigerian Shippers Council (NSC), Nigeria Customs Service (NCS) Standards Organisation of Nigeria (SON),  Grimaldi Group, Maritime Academy of Nigeria (MAN) Oron, among  others.

The high point of this year’s event is the Award ceremony and launching of the AMJON Express Magazine, a Special Purpose publication.

Mr Orok stated that the Magazine would be collectors item and reference material for Maritime journalists and research material for students.

He noted that prominent industry figures who despite the challenges are recording giant strides will be honoured at the event.

The Awardees are DG of NIMASA, Dr Bashir Jamoh; Acting MD of NPA, Mr Mohammed Bello-Koko;  DG of SON, Mallam Farouk Salim; Rector of MAN, Oron, Comdr. Emmanuel Effedua and Gbenga Omotosho,  Honourable Commissioner of Information and  Strategy, Lagos State.

Others are Comptroller Yusuf Malanta  of Apapa Customs Command, Comptroller Festus Okun of PTML, Command, Comptroller Immigration, Ikoyi Passport Office,  Comrade Adewale  Adeyanju, President  General, Maritime Workers Union of Nigeria,  Engr. Sarat  Braimah, Lagos Area Manager NIWA, Tarzan Balogun, President  ATBOWATON,  Dr Koyode Farinto, National Vice President ANLCA, Alhaji Abdulazeez Babatunde, National Secretary ANLCA, Hajia Bola Muse, National Financial Secretary, ANLCA and Segun Alabi, President, Advocacy for Maritime Development Association. Also included are PTML terminal, ICNL, MMA  and ONNE Chapters of ANLCA.

Meanwhile, the President of AMJON, Mr Paul Ogbuokiri has called on stakeholders in the industry to endevour to participate in this one of its kind event as issues concerning the industry will be dissected on sector by sector basis and way forward for the Nigerian maritime economy with a communique issued at the end of the programme.